Schlagwort Archiv: Shy Boys

The Power Of Pop

Playlist ByteFM Webradio für gute Musik

Gute Popmusik hat zahlreiche Stärken: mal ist es eine dynamische Hookline, die uns mitnimmt, dann die Verletzlichkeit eines Gesangs, welche uns beim Hören aufhorchen lässt. Dies gilt auch und in besonderer Weise für das Subgenre Power-Pop, das gemeinhin melodienreiche, dreieinhalb Minuten lange Uptempo-Nummern bezeichnet.

In der heutigen Ausgabe von Golden Glades liegt der Fokus auf solch lebensbejahenden Songs glorreicher Bands: Teenage Fanclub haben ihre alten Klassiker neu überarbeiten lassen, Shy Boys präsentieren ein sensationelles zweites Album und das Damen-Duo Ohmme zeigt auf seinem Debüt eine so enorme Musikalität und Spannbreite, dass einem die Ohren schlackern.

Diese Sendung war zu hören am Mittwoch, den 29.08.18 – 20:00-22:00 Uhr.

Stream online here: ByteFM
Berlin: 91.0 MHz // Hamburg: 91.7 MHz


The BethsHappy UnhappyCarpark
The MolochsI Wanna Say To YouInnovative Leisure
Roger Nichols & Small Circle Of FriendsDon't Take Your TimeTapete
The OpheliasGeneral ElectricJoyful Noise
Stephen SteinbrinkI Don't Know How To Deal With ItMelodic
Shy BoysEvil SinPolyvinyl
Shy BoysTragic LossPolyvinyl
The SpiresStereo ImagesFop Music
Dot DashWorld's Last PayphoneBeautiful Music
The CondorsMatter of FactBig Stir
The ArmoiresFort AshbyBig Stir
Davey Woodward & Winter OrphansBuild A BoatTapete
SummeroomsSummerooms Pop
Michael RaultOh, Clever BoyWick Records
ShadowgraphsHit of the TruthGolden Brown
Teenage FanclubAlcoholidaySony
Teenage FanclubDiscoliteSony
Teenage FanclubStart AgainSony
Grand PrixNada En Este MundoRock Indiana
The Love-BirdsWeak RiffTrouble In Mind
Gretchen's WheelPlansFutureman Records
Gretchen's WheelLucidFutureman Records
OvlovBaby AlligatorExploding in Sound
The Lemon TwigsSmall Victories4AD
Sam EvianIDGAFSaddle Creek
Free Cake For Every CreatureAround YouDouble Double Whammy
OhmmeIconJoyful Noise
OhmmeLiquor CabinetJoyful Noise
PoppelHow Many DaysMeritorio Records
Regular SpreadPipe

Shy Boys

Shy Boys Album Review Bell House (2018)

Oh well, I’ve been caught up by too many things and completely neglected my blog – sorry for that! It’s not dead yet. All I needed was a good reason for getting back into the writing business again and here it is, thanks to Shy Boys and their outstanding new album Bell House.


My colleagues at ByteFM already described its brilliance in a top-notch review in German. But I have to express my own excitement about this record here for you and for the music geek in all of us. So here we go: Shy Boys are a quintet from Kansas City and I know there are some very fine bands hailing from this area like The ACBs or Ghosty and also The Coctails were once founded at the Kansas City Art Institute before moving to Chicago.

And now we have Shy Boys, five guys singing sweet little, affirmative songs in perfect harmonies and I’m not at all surprised to see, that two bandmembers also play with The ACBs: there’s a similar feel to it in terms of sound and shape. But here on their second album, Shy Boys are taking the notorious indie-pop to a higher level and created nothing but a little masterpiece. It’s all good, from start to finish filled with musically nimble songs.

Of course, it’s easy to pin down some glorious influences: The Beach Boys moments, the sense of harmonic structures from singing in the church – but all this put together in a very gentle, upright and beautiful intimate way – it’s simply hard not to fall for this. While lead songwriter Collin Rausch sings about childhood memories and reflects on mundane things in life, the band creates an atmosphere of creativity and faithfulness, all in the sake of the unspoiled pop experience. I’d say you can hear there’s a quality in all this which only evolves over time when there’s a special connection between all band members. And indeed: Shy Boys is the product of five best friends (two of them brothers) who manage to combine all the soul-feeding harmonies and strong songwriting with an almost natural, effortless touch. It’s a very special thing, please check it out!

23th August 2018